Rousey and Carmouche in the UFC: Can we bring un-sexy back? (Guest post)

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

“Lisa, if the Bible has taught us nothing else (and it hasn’t), it’s that girls should stick to girls’ sports like hot oil wrestling, and foxy boxing, and such and such…” — Homer Simpson

Many many thanks to Sam and Tracy for giving me the chance to guest post on their blog, and to the always articulate Homer Simpson for starting me off talking about women and combat sports. When Sam asked me if I’d be interested in writing something, I’d just caught up on my fight-watching with UFC 157, the first time women had been the title match-up: Ronda Rousey vs. Liz Carmouche. Now, most of my familiarity with women’s combat sports has been as a competitor rather than a spectator: taekwondo as a kid, and then again in graduate school, and wrestling in high school. So I hadn’t really been following the competitors’ careers before that point, though…

View original post 478 more words

About wooster87

Business Owner. Feminist. Humanitarian. I have a hunger of the mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

