Why I Am a Male Feminist

experiencefeminism

I had internalized what I had seen in my home and was slowly becoming what I had disdained as a young boy. Although my mother attempted to teach me better, I, like a lot of boys and men, felt entitled to mistreat the female gender when it benefited me to do so.

After graduating from college, I needed a job. I learned about a new outreach program that was set to launch. It was called the Mentors in Violence Prevention Project. As a student-athlete, I had done community outreach, and the MVP Project seemed like a good gig until I got a real job in my field: journalism.

Founded by Jackson Katz, the MVP Project was designed to use the status of athletes to make gender violence socially unacceptable. When I met with Katz, I didn’t realize that the project was a domestic violence prevention program. Had I known that…

View original post 823 more words

About wooster87

Business Owner. Feminist. Humanitarian. I have a hunger of the mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

